Organic urban farming and education

Dating back to 1663, the abbey farm – complete with tithe barn, cow sheds and milking parlour – has been fully restored in 2021. City of Leuven municipality made the deliberate choice to retain the appearance and centuries-old functions of these buildings.

Sustainable repurposing

“The starting point for the restoration project was sustainable repurposing”, explains councillor in charge of restoration works, Dirk Vansina. “We wanted to bring together the past and the present, and reassign their original purpose to these agricultural buildings. This was a very clear and fundamental decision made right from the off. This means that the abbey farm, together with its various outbuildings and adjacent vegetable garden, meadows and fields, can become a working entity once more. That’s what makes the restoration of this abbey farm so unique. We owe everything we have been able to achieve in part to the efforts of many stakeholders and wonderful partnerships.”

Katrien Deckers, monument conservation architect at Stad Leuven municipality comments: “We took the existing structures, dating from the 17th century, as our starting point. In order to arrive at a practical and usable building, there were things that needed adapting to modern-day building standards and new techniques were required in places. For the bat population, we even fitted special openings and ‘bat-friendly’ lighting in the hayloft. The challenge with this project lay in uniting old and new whilst having consideration for nature conservation and present needs.”

Relatively little has changed as far as the outward appearance of the buildings is concerned. Abdij van Park is a protected heritage site with extremely well-kept outbuildings. Despite being over 300 years old, the abbey farmhouse was in fairly good condition. New additions were made to the interior only, and are distinguishable through the use of modern materials.”

A bright future

The abbey farm will soon be a hive of activity, as it was in its former glory. Furthermore, Erfgoedsite Abdij van Park bv – a subsidiary of Autonoom Gemeentebedrijf Stadsontwikkeling Leuven – will manage and use part of the tithe barn as a covered outdoor space for small events.

The city has entered into contracts with three concessionaires who will utilise the abbey farm. These three partners are Wonen en Werken - De Wikke, CSA boerderij Boerencompagnie and Landwijzer.

De Wikke will run a farm shop in the tithe barn, offering a range of organic fruit and vegetables and produce of co-farmers at Abdij van Park. A portion of the fruit and veg will be grown on the abbey’s own land. De Wikke is the organic urban farming project of Wonen en Werken, which offers employment to those who have trouble finding standard employment. Boerencompagnie keeps its cows in the cowshed and also has a cheese dairy in the milking parlour. Upstairs, there are six classrooms for Landwijzer, an education centre for organic and biodynamic farming.

Features

Historical path uncovered and relaid  

Preliminary archaeological investigations revealed an old path that travelled behind the tithe barn and stables. Over the years, the path had become buried under piled up earth. During the restoration works, the road was dug back up to its original level and relaid. This re-established a working link between the vegetable garden outside and the interior of the tithe barn. This in turn led to the discovery of two operational entrances to the cellars that had also become buried under the earth.

Tithe barn with compacted soil floor

The term ‘tithe’ – meaning tenth – harks back to the days when one tenth of the grain harvest belonging to the tenants of the abbey farmland was set aside as a form of tax. The removal of newer additions to the barn, such as the concrete slurry trough, made it possible to return to the barn’s original layout. This then freed up the throughway inside the barn, accessed via two large entrance gates.

The wooden rafters on the interior were still in excellent condition, made from high quality wood and wooden joints. The rafters were cleaned and needed repairs in only a couple of places.

Another striking feature of the barn is its floor, consisting of compacted soil, much like it would have been back in the day. This is in-keeping with the restoration principle of retaining the building’s original function to the greatest extent possible. Investigations also highlighted that the walls contained a lot of salt (from the animals’ urine). The salt is released when the temperature rises, and would react with any finishing coat that was applied. For this reason, it was decided for the interior brickwork to be left in its original condition instead of being limewashed.

There is a height discrepancy in the barn: the ground level is the lower level that leads directly into the vegetable garden and outdoor stables along the old path. New additions – such as doorframes and a minimalist volume constructed from steel and glass that will come to house Wonen en Werken shop, De Wikke – are easily distinguishable by the modern material choices and design.

The former threshing floor above the cellars (now the stage area) is situated in the elevated zone, which enabled the hay and straw to be lifted from the cart and stacked at one level.

Indoor cattle shed and outdoor shed with green roof

In order to facilitate an increase in cattle numbers, a new outdoor shed has been built alongside the existing indoor shed. To achieve maximum integration into the landscape, this structure was built into the slope in the garden to the rear and was given a green roof. As such, it blends into the surrounding protected landscape.

Milking parlour

In the adjacent milking parlour where the cow’s milk would have been processed, we now have a modern dairy where the milk is used to make cheese, yogurt and ice cream.

Classrooms and functional space on the first floor  

Above the tithe barn, cattle sheds and milking parlour, a floor has been built to accommodate two classrooms, a refectory, changing room and technical room.

Something wrong or unclear on this page? Let us know.

Agriculture urbaine biologique et formation

La ferme de l’abbaye de 1663 et sa grange dîmière, les étables et la laiterie sont entièrement restaurés depuis la mi-2021. La ville de Louvain a résolument choisi de conserver l’aspect et les fonctions séculaires de ces bâtiments, et de les transposer à une interprétation contemporaine d’agriculture urbaine biologique et de formation.

La ferme de l’abbaye de 1663 et sa grange dîmière, les étables et la laiterie sont entièrement restaurés depuis la mi-2021. La ville de Louvain a résolument choisi de conserver l’aspect et les fonctions séculaires de ces bâtiments, et de les transposer à une interprétation contemporaine d’agriculture urbaine biologique et de formation.

Une réaffectation durable

« La base du concept de restauration était une réaffectation durable », explique Dirk Vansina, l’échevin en charge des restaurations. « Nous voulions concilier passé et présent, et redonner à ces bâtiments utilitaires autant que possible leur fonction originelle. C’était, dès le départ, un choix clair et fondamental. De la sorte, la ferme de l’abbaye et ses différentes annexes, son potager, ses prairies et ses champs forment un tout fonctionnel. C’est ça qui rend la restauration de la ferme de l’abbaye si unique. Et si nous avons réussi, c’est en partie grâce à l’apport de nombreuses parties, et à de beaux accords de collaboration. »

Katrien Deckers, architecte du département de préservation des monuments de la ville de Louvain : « Nous sommes partis des constructions existantes, qui remontent au 17e siècle. Pour arriver à un bâtiment pratique et utilisable, des choses ont été adaptées aux normes actuelles, des nouvelles techniques ont été ajoutées. Nous avons même prévu des ouvertures et un éclairage adapté pour les chauves-souris dans le grenier à foin. Réunir l’ancien et le nouveau, en tenant compte de la préservation de la nature et des besoins modernes : tel était le défi de ce projet. 

L’aspect des bâtiments n’a pratiquement pas changé. L’abbaye De Parc est un site protégé et classé, dont les annexes sont très bien conservées. Bien que la ferme de l’abbaye ait plus de 300 ans, elle était en assez bon état. Seuls des ajouts ont été faits à l’intérieur, visibles par le recours à des matériaux modernes. »

Un avenir passionnant

La ferme de l’abbaye va grouiller de vie, comme autrefois. En outre, Erfgoedsite Abdij van Park bv, une filiale de l’Autonoom Gemeentebedrijf Stadsontwikkeling Leuven, va gérer une partie de la grange dîmière et l’utiliser comme espace extérieur couvert afin d’y organiser de petits événements.

La ville a conclu un accord avec trois concessionnaires qui utiliseront la ferme de l’abbaye. Ces trois partenaires sont Wonen en Werken - De Wikke, CSA boerderij Boerencompagnie et Landwijzer.

Dans la grange dîmière, De Wikke exploitera un magasin d’abbaye, proposant un vaste assortiment de fruits et légumes biologiques, mais aussi des produits de collègues producteurs de l’Abbaye De Parc. Les légumes sont cultivés sur les champs du domaine de l’abbaye, entre autres. De Wikke est le projet d’horticulture biologique de Wonen en Werken, qui emploie des gens qui éprouvent des difficultés à s'intégrer sur le marché de l’emploi classique. Boerencompagnie élève ses vaches dans les étables, et a installé une fromagerie dans la laiterie. À l’étage, six classes sont prévues pour Landwijzer, le centre de formation à l’agriculture biologique et biodynamique.

Particularités

Un chemin historique retrouvé et réaménagé

Lors des travaux archéologiques préparatoires, un chemin historique a été retrouvé derrière la grange dîmière et les étables. Au fil des ans, il avait été enfoui sous la terre. Lors des travaux, ce chemin a été remis en état aux niveaux d’origine, et réaménagé. Il y a donc à nouveau une liaison fonctionnelle entre le potager et l’intérieur de la grange dîmière. Cela permet deux entrées utilisables pour les caves, qui étaient enfouies elles aussi.

La grange dîmière et son sol en terre battue

La dénomination de grange dîmière vient de la coutume de stocker dans la grange un dixième de la récolte de céréales des fermiers de l’abbaye, à titre d’impôt. La suppression des ajouts ultérieurs, comme la fosse à purin en béton, a permis de revenir à l’agencement originel de la grange. La zone de passage dans la grange, par les deux grandes portes, est de ce fait à nouveau possible.

La charpente en bois était encore en très bon état, avec un bois d’excellente qualité et de bonnes liaisons. Elle a été nettoyée et réparée localement.

Il est étonnant de voir que le sol de la grange est en terre battue, comme autrefois. Cela cadre parfaitement avec le concept de la restauration, désireux de préserver les fonctions historiques. Une étude a également démontré que les murs contenaient énormément de sels (en raison de l’urine animale), qui, une fois les pièces chauffées, auraient causé des efflorescences dans toutes les couches de finition éventuelles. C’est pourquoi il a été décidé de garder la maçonnerie intérieure en l’état, et de ne pas la chauler.

Dans la grange, deux différences de niveau sont visibles. Le niveau du sol, dans la zone basse, donne directement accès au potager et à l’étable extérieure, par le chemin historique. De nouveaux ajouts, comme des cadres de portes et un volume minimaliste d’acier et de verre pour le magasin de Wonen en Werken - De Wikke, se distinguent clairement par leurs matériaux et leur esthétique modernes.

L’ancienne aire de battage au-dessus des caves, qui est aujourd'hui la partie dans la zone surélevée, permettait autrefois d’empiler la paille et le foin sur les charrettes.

Étable intérieure et extérieure avec toit vert

Une nouvelle étable extérieure a été aménagée à côté de l’étable intérieure existante, pour augmenter la capacité du nombre de vaches. Afin de permettre une parfaite intégration dans le paysage, ce volume extérieur a été encastré dans le talus du jardin et pourvu d'un toit vert. Cette étable s’intègre de la sorte joliment dans le paysage environnant.

Laiterie

Dans la laiterie adjacente, où le lait est traité depuis toujours, il y a aujourd'hui une fromagerie contemporaine, qui produit du fromage, du yaourt et de la glace.

Classes et espaces fonctionnels à l’étage

Au-dessus de la grange dîmière, des étables et de la laiterie, un étage abrite deux classes, un réfectoire, un vestiaire et un espace technique.

Vous constatez une erreur ou une imprécision sur notre site ? Faites-le nous savoir.